Waking the Tiger

Mark Wightman

Hobeck Books



ISBN: 9781913793463


Publication date: 1 June 2021

Rights: World



Singapore, 1939 and a young Japanese woman is found dead on the dockside. Inspector Maximo Betancourt is working a new beat, one he didn’t ask for. Following the disappearance of his wife, his life and career have fallen apart. A distinctive tiger tattoo is the only clue to her identity. Who is she? And why are the authorities turning a blind eye?

Mark Wightman

Mark Wightman was born in Edinburgh before growing up in Hong Kong and Singapore. He is a graduate of the University of East Anglia and University of Edinburgh Creative Writing MA programmes. Mark’s first novel, Waking the Tiger, was published by Hobeck Books in 2021 and was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger, the Scottish Crime Debut of the Year, and the Ngaio Marsh Best First Novel Award, and was longlisted for the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year. Mark’s second novel Chasing the Dragon was released in 2023.