Chasing the Dragon

Mark Wightman

Hobeck Books



ISBN: 9781915817181


Publication date: 12 September 2023

Rights: World



A local fisherman finds the body of a missing American archaeologist Richard Fulbright. Detective Inspector Betancourt is first on the scene. Something doesn’t quite add up. This was no accident. Fulbright was on the cusp of a discovery, but was also was having an affair, and he is sure he is onto something bigger than just academic infighting.

Mark Wightman

Mark Wightman was born in Edinburgh before growing up in Hong Kong and Singapore. He is a graduate of the University of East Anglia and University of Edinburgh Creative Writing MA programmes. Mark’s first novel, Waking the Tiger, was published by Hobeck Books in 2021 and was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger, the Scottish Crime Debut of the Year, and the Ngaio Marsh Best First Novel Award, and was longlisted for the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year. Mark’s second novel Chasing the Dragon was released in 2023.