Where Decay Sleeps

Anna Cheung

Illustrated by Serra, Danielle

Haunt Publishing



ISBN: 9781916234734


Publication date: 28 October 2021

Rights: World



Red across black, the blood moon
smeared her lunar cycle across the night
shedding the sky from scarlet to rust.
His garden

Where Decay Sleeps lays 36 poems on the undertaker’s table, revealing to us the seven stages of decay: pallor mortis, algor mortis, rigor mortis, livor mortis, putrefaction, decomposition and skeletonisation. Readers are summoned to walk the Gothic ruins of monsters, where death and decay lie sleeping.

Tread carefully through Satan’s garden. Feast your eyes on the Le Chateau Viande menu (before your eyes are feasted upon). Read the bios of monsters on Tinder. Discover the unpleasant side effects of a werewolf ’s medication.

Blending traditional Gothic imagery, modern technology and Chinese folklore, Where Decay Sleeps is the debut poetry collection from the haunted mind of Anna Cheung.

Anna Cheung

Anna Cheung is a poet based in Glasgow, Scotland. Her poetry has been published in Dark Eclipse and Dusk and Shiver and by Haunt Publishing and Zarf Poetry. She has a forthcoming publication in Dreich Magazine. Her poem ‘Survival of Solitude’ was included in From Them, To You, an illustrated book by the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland (published by Speculative Books) gifted to breast cancer patients in the UK to help improve women’s body confidence and mental health. Aside from poetry, she has written reviews for Bearded Magazine and Musicovered.