The Extremely Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Mettlestone

Jaclyn Moriarty

Illustrated by Karl James Mountford

Guppy Books



ISBN: 9781913101053


Publication date: 1 September 2019



The first story in the Bronte Mettlestone series, Bronte is ten years old when she receives a telegram that her parents have been killed by pirates.

This doesn’t bother her much: she has been raised by her Aunt Isabelle and the Butler, and has spent a pleasant childhood of afternoon teas and riding lessons. Now, however, her parents have left detailed instructions for Bronte in their will – instructions that have been reinforced with faery cross-stitch – so if she doesn’t complete them, terrible things will happen. She must travel through the kingdoms, delivering gifts to her ten extraordinary and eccentric aunts: one who owns an orange orchard, another who specializes in dragon care, a pair of aunts who captain a cruise ship, and a former rock star aunt who is the reigning monarch of a small kingdom.

But as she travels from aunt to aunt, Bronte suspects there might be more to this journey than the simple delivery of treasure.

Jaclyn Moriarty

Jaclyn Moriarty is the prize-winning, best-selling author of novels for children, adults, and young adults. Jaclyn grew up with four sisters (including Liane and Nicola Moriarty), one brother, two dogs and twelve chickens. Her novels include the Ashbury High books: FEELING SORRY FOR CELIA, FINDING CASSIE CRAZY, BECOMING BINDY MACKENZIE and DREAMING OF AMELIA. A former media and entertainment lawyer, Jaclyn has lived in the US, UK and Canada, but now lives in Sydney again, along with her son, Charlie.