The Deception

Maureen Myant

Hobeck Books



ISBN: 9781915817167


Publication date: 1 August 2023

Rights: World



When Kate’s mother dies, a man turns up at the funeral claiming to be her uncle. Kate is mystified; her mother was an only child. She agrees to meet him but when she tells him more about herself, he disappears. It’s best to forget him and get on with the business of grieving but when she finds her own death certificate, she realises she can’t let it drop. Besides, there are the threatening phone calls and messages to her mother to consider… Four hundred miles away in Glasgow, DI Alex Scrimgeour is haunted by memories of past crimes. Is he responsible for a miscarriage of justice? He’s already worried when Kate contacts him with her story. If she is who she thinks she is, it could ruin his entire career. Despite their mutual antipathy, only by working together will they understand the past and finally put old ghosts to rest.

Maureen Myant

Maureen Myant has a PhD and MLitt in Creative Writing from the University of Glasgow. Her first crime novel, The Confession, was published in 2022 and is the first in a series featuring DS Mark Nicholson and DI Alex Scrimgeour. The second in the series, The Deception, was published in 2023 and she is currently working on the third in the series. The novels are set in her home town of Glasgow.