The Angel House

Kerstin Ekman

Translated by Sarah Death

Norvik Press



ISBN: 9781909408586


Publication date: 18 February 2021



The Angel House is the third in the remarkable series of free-standing novels that cemented Kerstin Ekman’s reputation in her native Sweden during the 1970s, long before she achieved world-wide success with novels like Blackwater and The Forest of Hours. It follows the fortunes of the inhabitants of a provincial Swedish town familiar from the previous two books in the sequence, Witches’ Rings and The Spring, from the late 1920s to the Second World War, when events beyond the boundaries of neutral Sweden threaten to disrupt the regular rhythms of life.

With this sequence of novels focussing primarily on the lives of ordinary women, Kerstin Ekman provides an alternative, subversive history of the community in which she grew up, and gives a finely-drawn portrait of a town in transition. The Angel House is published here for the first time in English in a translation by Sarah Death, an acknowledged expert on Kerstin Ekman’s work.