A Dedication to Drowning

Maeve McKenna

Fly on the Wall Press



ISBN: 9781913211738


Publication date: 18 February 2022

Rights: World



In this raw and moving debut chapbook, Maeve McKenna dives into the multitudes of womanhood: a mother, unmothered; a lover, alone; a child, now aged. She flings the cover off pain that would otherwise remain hidden and unspoken, exposing the most intimate parts of herself. In doing so, she invites the reader to embrace their own vulnerabilities, calling, “Let’s assemble our bodies, limb to limb against/the walls of unoccupied margins, hope pointed/like the scope of a firing squad…I am writing it for you. For me.”

“Prepare to be undone. Maeve McKenna’s debut pamphlet ‘A Dedication to Drowning’ will leave you gasping for breath, head and heart battered and bruised by its ferocious, unflinching energy. Here is a poet that does not shy away from the hard edges of life where “each day is birth and a burial” – Gerard Beirne, Author of ‘Games of Chance: A Gambler’s Manual’ (poetry)

Maeve McKenna

Maeve McKenna lives in rural Sligo, Ireland. In 2018, her work was shortlisted for the Red Line and highly commended in the Yeats International Poetry Competitions.

In 2019, she was highly commended in the Frances Ledwidge and longlisted in the Over The Edge Poetry competitions. She was joint runner-up in the Trim Poetry Competition and the Hanna Greally Poetry Competition, 2020.

Her work has been published in Mslexia, Orbis, Sand, The Galway Review, Marble Poetry, Channel Magazine, Fly on the Wall, The Haibun Journal, Bloody Amazing Anthology, Culture Matters A Working Class Anthology Of Prose Writing. Her poems have appeared online in Atrium, The Ofi Press, The Bangor Literary Journal, The Honest Ulsterman, HeadStuff, Dodging The Rain and many others.

Maeve was a recipient of two Arts Council of Ireland Awards 2020/2021, a finalist in the Eavan Boland Mentorship Award, 2021 and a recipient of a John Hewitt Summer School bursary, 2021. She was part of a poetry collaboration with three poets which won the Dreich Alliance Competition.